My Maddin DNA Results and Clarifying Some Mysteries

Please always do your own research my conclusions are not always accurate and I’ve been known to make mistakes.

Ancestry.com has done us a great service.

They not only take our DNA sample and show us where our ancestry is from in the world (at least for females, males have an extra chromosome and I think they can do even more with their DNA)…then, if you have a public tree they match your DNA with other trees (who’ve had their DNA done by Ancestry) in the Ancestry.com system.  This process can find those closely related to us…1st, 2nd, and 3rd cousins…but even more distant cousins. Ancestry actually shows us (when possible) what surnames we share with those DNA matches.  I only had private trees in the Ancestry.com system (used for research only), so I quickly made a public tree that contained direct descendants only and went back as far as I could go and submitted it. Wonderful!

I will take the first 5 connections in each of my family surnames and display them for my readers (a separate blog post for each surname), adding more as I continue research on the results.

Because of brick walls, I was interested in the 5-8th cousins list and even “Distant Cousin” in order to find out if some of my theories about our ancestry would pan out, or to learn more about us. The following trees link me with my Maddin family through DNA.

1. DNA connected to Josephine Maddin (sister to Thomas Maddin who was born abt 1822 in Missouri and died unknown and who m Mary Strickland ).  Josephine is the daughter of Richard Maddin born 1784 in probably Virginia and died 1844 in St Genevieve County, Missouri and son of the probable emigrant Thomas Maddin who helped shape St Genevieve County when it was still Louisiana Territory. Richard was married to Margaret (McClanahan?). Josephine married Thomas Jefferson Hamor in 1860.  This DNA trail goes through their daughter, Emma Jane Hamor, who married Walter Taylor Neeves and then their son Walter Frederick Neeves who married Evva Turner.  Walter died in 1962 in Lubbock, Texas.  Interesting Note:  Walter as a descendant of the Maddins married Evva Turner a descendant of Aventon Phelps and Rachel McElroy through their daughter Lurania Phelps.  So my Phelps line and Maddin line meet together at this point. Evva is listed as my 6th cousin 1x removed in my tree…and Walter Frederick Neeves is listed as my 2nd cousin 2x removed.  The listing under my DNA is high for 4-6th cousin, so it may be more toward Evva than Walter.

The following three photos were originally posted on Ancestry.com by LSHamlin4604.

emma jane hamor
Emma Jane Hamor/Neeves, g- granddaughter of the emigrant Thomas Maddin. Originally posted on Ancestry.com by Bettie Collins
walter neeves
Walter Frederick Neeves on his wedding day.
evva turner
Evva Turner on her wedding day.

2. DNA connected to Laura Alice Maddin, d/o Thomas Maddin and Mary Strickland.  Laura was born 1856 in Arkansas and died 1947 in San Bernardino, CA.  She married James Thomas Johnson in 1873 in Austin, Williamson, TX. The line continues through their son Gus Johnson born 1885 in Travis, TX and died 1957 in Utah.  He married Margaret Bradley in 1912 in Los Angeles, CA.  Their son Joseph Eugene Johnson was born in 1924 in San Bernardino, CA and died 2002 in Oregon.  Joseph is my 3rd cousin.

Below photo of Laura Alice Maddin, d/o Thomas Maddin and Mary Strickland.  Photo originally posted on Ancestry.com by Dianna Peck.

laura alice maddin

margaret bradley
Margaret Bradley, w/o Gus Johnson.  Posted on Ancestry.com by Dianna Peck.
gus johnson
Gus Johnson, s/o Laura Maddin and Thomas Johnson.  Originally posted on Ancestry.com by Dianna Peck.
joseph johnson
Joseph Eugene Johnson s/o Gus Johnson and Margaret Bradley.  Posted on Ancestry.com by Dianna Peck.

3. DNA related to Charles Francis Maddin (spelled Madden in this connection).  His parents are Richard Maddin and Margaret (McClanahan?).  Charles was born in 1830 in Ste Genevieve County, Mo and died in 1919 in Idaho.  He married Ella Coleman.  Their line continues to their daughter Una Maddin born in 1878 in Idaho and died 1956 in California.  She married Charles Deeter.  Their daughter Frances Fern Deeter married William Thursby in 1931 in California.  Frances is my 2nd cousin 2x removed according to my Ancestry tree.

Charles Maddin
Charles Fancis Maddin s/o Richard Maddin and Margaret (McClanahan?). Originally posted on Ancestry.com by LyndallJStafford.

I have other “Madden” with an “e” DNA matches but haven’t been able or because of time…haven’t found a connection.  It’s interesting that I’ve always speculated that Richard Maddin was my line to the emigrant Thomas Maddin and now all of my known DNA matches are with him and his children. More later.

Author: Belvidene

I am first...a follower of Jesus Christ. He is my reality. I am the widow of an Architect and the mother of a beautiful daughter. I have three wonderful grandchildren. I have lived in Nebraska, Illinois and in Wisconsin. My hobbies are studying the Holy Scriptures and researching early Church history, organic architecture and living "simplistic and minimalistic". I'm interested in genealogy and all that goes with it....history of our country, etc. ; the UFO phenomenon through Christian lenses and seeing God's Prophetic Word come to pass.

Leave a Reply

